Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Mexico
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 10:48 AM

1 posts, read 21,730 times

Advertisements

Hello all:
I'm a 30 year old New York girl who just returned from a fantastic trip to Playa del Carmen in Mexico. I am thinking of relocating there. I'm a certified English teacher with a Masters degree. I also have years of experience as a paralegal. My understanding is that teaching English does not pay well, barely enough for one to survive. What are other jobs available in the area that a foreigner would likely be hired to do? What is the approximate cost of renting an apartment per month in Playa? Other living expenses...to live comfortably? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-23-2008, 07:09 PM

22 posts, read 93,878 times
I believe playa would be a very expensive place to live.
I would try finding a job with an american company with operatiosn down there.

Old 01-28-2008, 03:56 PM

66 posts, read 268,695 times
aren't you lucky i would love to live there.. i was considering moving there too but then i changed my mind..

check this out
Living in Mexico

Old 01-30-2008, 02:40 PM

291 posts, read 647,823 times
I think the best thing in your case it that you save money and put a business like a clothing store, restaurant or school to learn spanish/english.

For a teacher is difficult to find a job, since the university is in Cancun not in Playa, or you can work in one hotel, just make a try...

Old 01-31-2008, 05:14 PM

409 posts, read 1,830,105 times