Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting > Adoption
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-24-2015, 07:45 PM

69 posts, read 140,347 times

Advertisements

I have read that children in foster care are moved to a new home approximately twice a year. I don't know if this is accurate or not. My questions: Is this true? What are the reasons children are moved so often? I have no experience with the foster system, so I'm looking at it from a curious outsider's perspective. It seems to me that moving a child to a new home every 6 months is cruel. Anyone care to shed a little light?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-24-2015, 08:29 PM

4,751 posts, read 5,435,775 times
Every situation is different, but when kids are first put into care oftentimes they go to whoever has an open room. Then they might be moved to the home of a relative who may/may not be able to care for them adequately or may only be able to take 1 or 2 kids but there are 4 siblings, so then the kids might be split up. Sometimes the home they are placed in just isn't a good match, or the kids have emotional issues that the foster parents aren't prepared to deal with or just don't want to. If they are siblings that have been split up, they might be moved again when a home becomes available that can take all of them. And finally, not all foster parents will take all types of kids (race, disability, age, sibling groups, emotional/social issues, safety issues, etc.) and so the kids have to be moved again and again until a good match is found.

Old 03-24-2015, 11:39 PM