Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-12-2010, 11:10 AM

653 posts, read 1,794,283 times

Advertisements

Cable?
Dish Network?
Direct TV?
Other?

I have never used satellite before, but have had concerns that there would be signal issues often enough to irritate me (as shown on the ads for TimeWarner cable).
But the truth is, I get outages with cable every so often as well (both internet and tv, or just internet, or just particular tv stations).

The satellite providers have specials right now, but I don't want a lock in to a contract, for which the price goes up, before the end of the contract.

What about DSL instead of Cable for internet?

TimeWarner does not even recognize the address of the house, they tell me it does not exist in their database, and I know it exists, and I was pretty sure I saw cable connections inside (but maybe it is not wired for cable).

I did some looking on the internet, and AT&T has a lot of specials, but they are gimmick heavy (I hate gimmicks, I would much rather just get a straight deal.)

Do the people who get satellite in this area (Austin, or more specifically North Austin), get pretty constant reception, or is it fuzzy a lot?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-12-2010, 12:03 PM

1,961 posts, read 6,123,590 times
We use uverse and are happy with it. The only part I don't like is that you have to have a box for every tv which is $7/month

Old 07-12-2010, 12:19 PM

1,148 posts, read 2,780,143 times