Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Business
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-02-2024, 04:41 AM

315 posts, read 300,298 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

For those experienced leaders who have been in leadership positions for a while do you know if there are different frameworks/models for leadership? The one I studied extensively focuses on Total Ownership; Everything-Is-The-Leaders-Fault style. It is from the book Extreme Ownership: How Navy Seals Lead and Win. The author is Jocko Wilink who also runs the leadership development company Echelon Front.

Besides his method of leadership are there other methods/frameworks interested folks can learn and adopt?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-02-2024, 07:52 AM

Location: East of Seattle since 1992, 615' Elevation, Zone 8b - originally from SF Bay Area
44,570 posts, read 81,167,557 times
I started my first supervisory job at age 26, and had 23 direct reports. I never had any specific management training, just a degree and graduate work in psychology. I based my leadership style on my previous supervisors and managers. I emulated the best, and learned what not to do from the worst. Then as I became more experienced I modified based on changes in staff, employment law, and generational issues. When I started in my 20s I had people in their 60s reporting to me, now at 71 all of my team are 24-32. I'm finally about to retire after 45 years as a manager.

Old 04-04-2024, 06:01 PM

315 posts, read 300,298 times