Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Chattanooga
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-14-2017, 08:21 AM

2 posts, read 2,781 times

Advertisements

My husband and I want to get out of South Florida, for MANY reasons. We spent some time in eastern TN this summer and loved it. Didn't get to Chattanooga so have to make it another trip. We just want some opinions.
We enjoy the outdoors, friendly people, music, intelligent conversations, moderate to conservatives politics.
I'm a teacher and husband has his own medical device business, which he'd like to relocate.
We welcome any advice or suggestions
Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-18-2017, 07:03 AM

1,398 posts, read 2,507,319 times
Need a little more description of what you're looking for? Chattanooga is a small city with a wide range of businesses in a diverse economy based on a fairly even mix of manufacturing, professional services and retail/trade/tourism. There is also a significant presence of education with a branch of the UT system and handful of smaller colleges. Someone mentioned the metro area is pushing 700,000 but (oddly enough) that does not include an adjacent county (Bradley TN, pop. 104,400) and another large GA county (Whitfield, pop. 104,600), just a fifteen minute drive down I-75. In fact many residents of East Hamilton County commute to Dalton, GA in that county. Northwest Georgia is the worldwide center of the carpet and textile industry. Businesses throughout the Chattanooga area exist to support that industry.