Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-24-2011, 09:43 PM

442 posts, read 1,297,110 times

Advertisements

does anyone have any tips for taking a full time load with a job that demands varying hours? i have weekends off but my week days are undpredictable hours. I live in nyc obviously and was just wondering where anyone goes to school. I dont much like all online classes but understand it could be necessary. Thanks for any input Im just getting into this college thing. Im 25 and no family for consideration
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-24-2011, 10:03 PM

41 posts, read 153,286 times
What kind of studies are you going for? Morning/noon/evening classes? Will your bosss understand, "I can't come in, I have class" or "I gotta go, I have class"...etc?

It sounds like you plan to take a full load of on ground classes sitting in the classroom while still working without working on weekends. One committment will have to be in morning and the other in evening and night probably.

Old 02-28-2011, 07:52 AM

13 posts, read 76,411 times
I work full time in IT and go to college full time online (12 credits a semester) and its not that bad, just make sure that you manage your time and I actually get a lot of classwork done during lunch .

Old 02-28-2011, 01:29 PM

41 posts, read 153,286 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepster78 View Post