Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa > Des Moines
 [Register]
Des Moines Dallas, Guthrie, Madison, Polk, and Warren Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2008, 05:48 PM

39 posts, read 108,713 times

Advertisements

I am so sorry to ask this question this way - I am new to this. Expanding on Des Moines being the 9th best place to live...I live in Cedar Rapids and am thinking of relocating to Des Moines. I am a social worker and will already have a job. I don't drink and am a true Cancer - homebody. My question is how do Black and White folks get along in Des Moines?????? I am not a martyr - I don't want to live where I have to be fearful. I want to live in a diverse, nice neighborhood where I don't have to be afraid of a cross on my lawn when I get home from work. Is Des Moines a good place to live? More than likely my children, at least one of them will move with me which is fine. Move or stay in Cedar Rapids???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-30-2008, 06:27 AM

1,744 posts, read 7,262,225 times
There hasn't been a cross burned in anyone's yard (that I know of), any racist graffitti on someone's property or any serious racially motived attacks by whites on minorities (although there have been many the other way around) for about 10-15 years. Odds are your experiences here would be no different than Cedar Rapids.

Old 05-30-2008, 04:32 PM

39 posts, read 108,713 times
Thanks - I see not many are willing to give their opinion to this kind of question. I appreciate your response.

Old 05-30-2008, 05:16 PM