Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Foreclosures, Short Sales, and REOs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-07-2007, 10:24 AM

1 posts, read 3,275 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,
This is my first time here, and I love this forum. I have a question, I don't know if its been asked before. I was looking to find my mother a cheap apartment,(she lives with my sister who is lets say not very nice). So my mom gets disability, not alot, I was looking for a apartment and came across a site realtytrac. com, and they had homes there that were "bankowned". There were prices for example 18,000-120,00 and plus. I was thinking maybe I can get a house for my mother instead. Wouldn't it be better than appartment (expecially if you try to find a cheap appartment usually its a bad neighborhood), of course I would help her out with the lawn and stuff if I got a house, and the utilitys I would pay for. The question is, could you really buy something for 18,000? We are talkin bout a good neighborhood too!! I am sure the 18,000 home is not gonna be great, but I guess cheap though for my mom. The thing is, I am sure I will have to pay for the documents and etc.. Is there more cost to this? It just seems why dont many people buy bankowned homes? Or do they, and I just never knew. I don't have that much money, but I thought I can help a little for my mother. I am just wondering if anyone has gone through this and is it easy buying a bankowned home?? are the prices wrong? is there something more to those prices? I tried to find info, but they all said the general info, not