Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Foreclosures, Short Sales, and REOs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-18-2007, 09:23 PM

20 posts, read 95,958 times

Advertisements

Does anyone have any ideas about homes that have been foreclosed ? I am planning on buying a house in St. Mary's GA and I need some feedback ? your help will be gladly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-18-2007, 10:17 PM

989 posts, read 2,763,803 times
Arrow I do it for a living

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIFAITHE View Post
Does anyone have any ideas about homes that have been foreclosed ? I am planning on buying a house in St. Mary's GA and I need some feedback ? your help will be gladly appreciated.
I would say that for most people it is not a good option as an investment, and it is really not a good idea as a residence.

First, you have to pay cash, so that takes most of the people out of the running right there. There are a lot of risks involved, and you could lose hundreds of thousands of dollars if you do it wrong. You also might have to deal with an eviction (maybe even someone very sympathetic like a single mom with kids or a destitute old lady).

If you do want to get a foreclosure, definately seek the help of professionals. Doing it all on your own (even if you are a great book learner, very smart, etc) is like trying to learn how to give yourself a root canal (even some realtors would be in way over their head). I would personally never buy a place without some professional help.