Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-20-2011, 03:22 PM

450 posts, read 5,025,044 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am new to being a household manager (i.e. homemaker). My husband and I bought our first house a year ago. Previously we were renters, and our apartments were small and pretty much required no maintenance. There was no yardwork to do and no repairs to do, as the landlord took care of everything. Also, when we lived in apartments in the city, we used to eat out most the time so meal planning and cooking weren't much of an issue.

This year I have really been trying hard to develop my skills as a household manager. But I am overwhelmed and not doing it very well! I am reading a very helpful book about how to be a better household manager and trying to put the tips into practice, but I feel like I am not doing a very good job. I am not doing a good job at running a smoothly running household.