Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-11-2019, 12:54 PM

91 posts, read 426,702 times

Advertisements

I have been an executive assistant since 2004. I graduated college with a communications degree and I got a decent job at a large tech company in the Pacific Northwest. I was eager to take it as I got tired of money just going out and not coming in.

Anyway, I have had jobs in large tech company since then. Frankly, I hate it. I just don't like being an administrative assistant. Its a thankless job and you get zero respect. You get pigeon holed and there is never room for advancement (dead end job).

I have been applying for jobs (after living overseas with a 4 year hiatus) that were out of my resume experience (but still kind of in line with it) because I REALLY want to do something different. Meanwhile, I get interest from a HUGE tech company here in Southern California not only doing EXACTLY what I was doing 15 years ago but literally in the same division of the company that I have always worked for. Wow. Deja vu!