Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Kingsport - Johnson City - Bristol
 [Register]
Kingsport - Johnson City - Bristol The Tri-Cities area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-25-2019, 06:50 AM

66 posts, read 61,954 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

My husband and I are hopefully (if all goes well) relocating to the area (Johnson City or Bristol) in the summer of next year. He has a job lined up already, I am a teacher in Florida. I would like some local input on the area for teaching, I have my professional license and can teach grades 6 thru 12 sciences. How hard are teaching jobs to come by? Any good school recommendations to be looking at for teaching? Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-25-2019, 08:44 AM

2,172 posts, read 4,623,912 times
The city schools pay more, have more resources, and score better, and thus a job in those systems are harder to come by especially when applying from out of town. The county schools especially the more rural ones always need math and science teachers.

For High Schools:
Dobyns Bennett (Kingsport), Science Hill (JC), and TN High (Bristol) are at the top.

Daniel Boone (Gray) and Sullivan South (Colonial Heights) are the next tier - very good. Although South is a part of the Sullivan Co consolidation plan so it will be merged with two smaller high schools to West Ridge High School in Blountville, near the airport.

Elizabethton High, Sullivan East (actually South of Bristol), and David Crockett (Jonesborough) are good.