Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-26-2014, 12:06 PM

4 posts, read 7,768 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I have been racking my brain over this for the past few weeks, and was hoping you could help me.

I am a former California resident (and self-employed author), but I have been living out of the country for the past 2 years. I am returning to the US at the beginning on 2015, and I would like to settle myself down in Las Vegas instead of re-establishing myself in California. My plan is to head straight for the strip as soon as I arrive back into the motherland.

Anyway, since I have been gone for 2 years my driver's license has since expired. I didn't really think anything of it at first, and thought that it would be no problem to just use a cab for the first day I was there, and then renew my license in Nevada, but when I doubled-checked I see that there is a "Proof of Residency" that I must demonstrate to get my license. So basically I need two of these

Residency & Proof of Identity

So obviously this creates a HUGE problem for me, because I can't rent a car while I'm there at all until I renew my license... Therefore traveling around will be a big issue. I can't really go "apartment hunting" without a vehicle, and it seems like every document they want requires me to have an apartment or own property already.