Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii > Maui
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-03-2023, 01:40 AM

45 posts, read 67,596 times

Advertisements

Hello, I am a resident in Hawaii and am considering a small parcel of land on Molokai to build a small 2/2 on for a quiet retirement.

I was pressing for the real scoop on getting permits on Molokai. The realtor said before getting permits, the county may require an archeological dig first because it's in and SMA zone.

It's a terribly small lot under 7.200 sq ft between two others with homes built already. She said it already had one done 5 or 6 years ago and that doesn't matter if they found nothing, they can ask for a new one and the cost averages $20K to pay the 8 people who have to fly out and dig with tiny shovels for weeks.

Does anyone know how common it is that the country requires a dig before giving a septic permit?

Does anyone know what the protocol is if they find something and claim it as a historical preservation site and deny any building permits (which is understandable). Are they obligated to purchase the land from you to hold it as a preserve or can they stick you with holding title to land you paid for that you can not use or resell?

If a dig was done in the past and if anything was found, meaning "no building permits for you"
would a seller have to disclose that?

I greatly appreciate learning from anyone who has had experience with this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-03-2023, 01:32 PM

23,259 posts, read 18,764,714 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whalesongs View Post