Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-05-2022, 08:49 AM

4,932 posts, read 12,763,183 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I have a college degree. I'm not really happy with my current job. Grad school isn't for me.

I just turned 30, but I don't have any major health problems and work out regularly.

My only question is where I could do my monthly training at. I live near an airforce base and wondering if I work with a recruiter if I could do my time at that base and work towards a job at that base as well? I have no problem as a reserve if I get deployed.

Or is my monthly training only at the reserve base? I thought maybe the two week annual training is at the reserve base.

Thank you,

the city
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-05-2022, 08:50 AM

5,222 posts, read 3,016,975 times
It is going to depend on where the reserve base is and what your job is going to be. The best one to ask is your local recruiter.

Old 02-05-2022, 09:32 AM

24,299 posts, read 13,145,198 times
I work as a civilian for a Reserve unit. Yes, monthly UTAs (Unit Training Assemblies) are done at the base. In fact, it's going on (sort of) right now, although this one got a pass due to the DFW-area roads being mostly unusable. UTAs are done at the base so essential training is accomplished and documented.