Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-09-2010, 01:46 PM

5,751 posts, read 10,390,722 times

Advertisements

I sold my primary residence last year and am thinking about buying another home (am currently renting). I also own multiple rental properties with positive cash flows. I am a business owner (5 y.o. company) and took a very small W2 salary last year. Instead, I reinvested into growing the business and hiring employees. I also used rental property equity to secure a commercial loan/business line of credit.

I doubt I will be able to qualify for a traditional mortgage based on my 2010 W2 and high leverage. I do have a good credit score and 15+ years of perfect loan/mortgage payments on all my properties. I may also be able to put together a higher down pmt. next year. I will not sell any of my rental properties though.

I can spend 2011 paying myself a good salary so that I qualify for a traditional loan in 2012. Or, perhaps there are other financing options out there for people like me so that I may buy a home in 2011? I am specifically interested in owner-financing or perhaps rent-to-own. However, I assume that, with these types of deals, the purchase price will be substantially inflated. I probably would have been a perfect candidate for a no-doc income loan if they were still around. Any professionals out there who can give me some tips?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-13-2010, 12:46 PM

2,776 posts, read 3,599,416 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoCUBS1 View Post