Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 04:28 PM

8 posts, read 48,626 times

Advertisements

Hi,

My husband and I currently live in Los Angeles and are thinking about moving to Upstate New York. He is black and I am black and white. He hopes to go for his PhD in Theology possibly in New York city, or at another school somewhere else in the state. I am a clinical social worker/therapist.

We are planning to have some kids, and would like to buy a nice house (probably a starter house at first, or maybe rent initially), but I can't help but taking the advice here with a grain of salt wondering if it would apply to a black family as well... Which cities upstate are welcoming for African-Americans? I want us to feel comfortable where we live, and for our future kids to feel comfortable as well.

We have been thinking about Saratoga Springs, Albany, maybe Syracuse. We are planning a trip to NY this fall and are trying to figure out where to visit. Any suggestions?

Old 07-22-2007, 05:52 PM

3,235 posts, read 8,714,197 times
The upstate cities do not have as many well off african-americans as los angeles. You would not have trouble fitting in as people in the cities are generally accepting but you may feel out of place. Though the street I live on in my suburb is about half black, most suburbs are whitebread.

Old 07-22-2007, 08:09 PM

5,265 posts, read 16,587,046 times
Garmin....what street in what suburb do you live on that is almost half black?

Old 07-22-2007, 09:13 PM