Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-15-2021, 06:21 PM

116 posts, read 105,178 times

Advertisements

I remember years ago when I worked as a Security Officer we had several very nice eating establishments with spacious patio seating.

It never failed to amaze me why the parents would sit down and eat and allow their children ( under aged 10) to leave the enclosed patio area and run around the property, play in the flower beds, etc....

Those were the days in which I was ready to resign. I got tired of telling the parents and children it's not appropriate behavior for the property.

I don't have any children so maybe there's something I'm not understanding about parenting.

Last edited by Tim McDaniels Sr.; 10-15-2021 at 06:46 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-16-2021, 12:16 AM

4,413 posts, read 3,472,468 times
Boy you've stepped in it now, OP. Don't get me wrong, I totally agree with your comment. But anytime these discussions come up online you will hear from a lot of defensive people. It seems a lot of folks think it is perfectly reasonable for a child to run around a restaurant (or grocery store or whatever) as if they were on the playground or at home.

Old 10-16-2021, 12:20 AM

2,409 posts, read 1,529,181 times
I refer to those children as free range kids.

Old 10-16-2021, 01:23 AM

14,735 posts, read 15,038,045 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim McDaniels Sr. View Post

Why do people let their children go "unleashed"?