Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 07-21-2006, 01:17 PM

8 posts, read 44,713 times

Advertisements

I graduated from Purdue University in Dec. 2005 and I received a Job Offer in Phoenix, AZ for the state with the CPS unit. I am getting more and more reluctant about accepting this position in Phoenix. At first I heard great things about the area, but after reading the forums I am having a change of heart.

I would be moving alone to pursue this job with no friends nor family close to the west coast. I am not sure what I should do. It seems that there are little good things about the area except for the hot weather/sunny weather.

I have tried to talk to people at the office that offered me a job, and two of them have asked me, "Why are you moving here if you don't have friends or family" I have also been told that Phoenix is a very violent city.

If people could respond and tell me which neighborhoods to avoid...I know that Metrocenter mall area is not somewhere I want to live...It would be very helpful if people could even tell me which streets/apartment complexes to avoid. I would like an apartment complex with mostly professional-ish people living there, that is safe...I am definitely going for safe...

...Should I not feel safe?