Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Photography
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-19-2007, 10:36 AM

7,784 posts, read 14,893,639 times

Advertisements

Ok, if you've read any of my photography posts, you know I'm a novice.

But I needed a lens to help me when I'm outdoors, particularly with wildlife shots.

I ordered and should receive today this lens "Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS EF USM LENS", per B&H Photo.

Any pointers?

My BIL said this should be a very good lens and that I now have a pretty good assortment. So are there any secrets/tips you seasoned folks can help me out with it?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-19-2007, 11:08 AM

3,674 posts, read 10,610,281 times
Not much beyond get out there and play with it.

You have probably already heard how the IS can cause problems when used on a tripod. Latest gen lenses have less problems than early verisons, but the IS is expecting vibration and if there is none it seems to make it's own. It eats battery juice while on, so when not needed it makes sense to turn it off.

I have the 70-200 and love the IS! I rented the Sigma 50-500 for used during a trip to Alaska and found myself using the 70-200 with a teleconverter, giving up 100mm of legnth, just because of the IS and faster focusing. I wish I had the 70-300 and a converter on that trip instead of the Bigma.

Old 07-19-2007, 11:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnrex62 View Post
Not much beyond get out there and play with it.