Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Real Estate Professionals
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-29-2015, 02:45 PM

67,650 posts, read 60,853,687 times

Advertisements

As some of you may know, I'm in the process of reactivating my Texas license since I've moved back to the MLS I worked in several years ago.

When I was a realtor here before, my (now) ex husband and I owned a small brokerage. Though I only worked in real estate for five years, I was successful - in the top 20 percent of local realtors - and I was particularly good at listing property, though I also enjoy working with buyers. I did NOT rely on my husband or anyone else for my leads, and we had no leads fed to us. I got my listings and buyers by getting out on the street, networking, knocking on doors, referrals - old school, but very effective!

Most of the rest of my career has been in outside sales - much of it commission only. I was successful in that, and I have the self discipline and drive to succeed in commission only sales. I also worked in banking, as a personal banker and then branch manager, for about four years.

My husband and I own our own small business. He is a consultant and I "keep the books." So I understand owning one's business, the expenses, the taxes, etc.

I say all that to give some background. I am trying to decide which system to go with. Both local offices I've interviewed with have some good agents on board, and the owners/brokers seem helpful and professional, but the two systems are very different.