Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-11-2023, 02:19 PM

7 posts, read 10,162 times

Advertisements

We currently reside south of Madison, Wisconsin and we are seriously considering relocating to the west/northwest side of San Antonio.

My better half is a Texas Aggie (College Station) and I have friends in Hondo. We enjoy everything about the area (minus the rapid increase in the COL the last 18-24 months).

That being said, I am a Project Manager/Electrician for a commercial electrical contractor and I was wondering what the job market was like in the area. I will be reaching out to several companies with general inquiry emails as well. From my research, I am having a hard time believing that the pay scales that I am seeing for the area, are what they are. They are low! I am talking $25k to $35k (or more) lower than where we are currently.

If anyone with knowledge of the industry can chime in, it would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-11-2023, 02:40 PM

3,950 posts, read 3,008,700 times
Not sure what your salary ranges are but just an example. According to an online cost of living calculator a salary of 80,000 in Madison could decrease to 70,000 in San Antonio and it would be the same.

And if you are looking at Hondo (it is a great town!) it is much cheaper than San Antonio as well, although you will have a far commute or have to find a job closer.

Old 10-13-2023, 10:37 AM

6,707 posts, read 8,780,002 times