Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Jose
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-13-2022, 04:29 PM

153 posts, read 131,426 times

Advertisements

I'm a new Family Nurse Practitioner and I'm trying to decide where to live. My wife is a surgical tech. In phoenix, i've been offered 115k salary, she's been offered 55k. That's about $11,000 per month between the both of us after taxation. In San Jose I've been offered 130k and she's been offered 65k. That's about $12,800 after taxation. So we are looking at a $1,500 pay increase. Our current apartment in Phoenix is $2,000 a month. We found similar apartments for $3,300 a month in San Jose. And with gas and groceries etc being more expensive in SJ, there goes the "pay increase". However, when all is said and done, at the end of the year we will have CLOSE to the same left over. I -think- it just comes down to where we'd be happier living. I watch a vlogger who lives in the SJ area and often goes to Santana Row and nearby nature attractions and the city looks nice. Does anyone have advice?

Edit: I can also take a job in the Fremont area..?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-13-2022, 05:07 PM

2,672 posts, read 2,624,140 times
> Does anyone have advice?
Personally, I would go with Phoenix. California is expensive in every way, and Silicon Valley is more expensive than California generally.

> I can also take a job in the Fremont area..?