Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Dakota
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-22-2024, 11:51 AM

5 posts, read 1,324 times

Advertisements

Hey all,
I am planning a move to South Dakota during the next year or two.

I'm a semi-retired engineer who is completely fed up with California. Too many problems; don't get me started.

I have questions about SD vehicle registration, but not the usual questions you probably get all the time like people from everywhere else asking how to register their vehicle in South Dakota. Yeah, I already know a little something about that.

I have a Ford F450 pickup that is currently registered in Montana. It is currently garaged in Washington State. When I establish SD residency using a PMB later this year, the truck will still keep its Montana plates, and I'll get it insured through one of the brokers that specializes in such things, like Select Insurance or Triple Creek Insurance. But it won't be on the road much at all... it will remain garaged.

A year or two from now, when I physically move to South Dakota, I'll start actually driving the truck in South Dakota with the Montana plates.

Question 1: How picky are the friendly local law enforcement of South Dakota, regarding out-of-state plates? Is this the kind of thing that people can do for a while with no problems, as in States like Nevada? Or is it asking for trouble, like in California or Washington State?

Question 2: Does South Dakota have full commuter reciprocity with Montana?