Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-17-2007, 10:21 PM

64 posts, read 289,456 times

Advertisements

I am a 2005 grad with a bach. in elem. edu. with minors in fine art and psychology. Is there anyone else out there that is finding it very hard to get hired? (Unless you are in a state that need teachers).

My friend and I are older (not in the 20's) and we did some research. We found out that the younger ones will get hired over the younger ones. Has any one else experienced this problem? I find it so discouraging that principals will not look past what they see. I am a great teacher with much experience but I will usually get one interview and then never hear anything.

I live in Indiana and moving to another state at this time is not an option for me. I have done everything such as making a better resume with a great cover letter to go with it. Then if I do get an interview, I will send a thank-you card, yet no one calls.

Tell me your stories.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-18-2007, 07:44 AM

5,652 posts, read 19,390,140 times
I know in IL, that elementary ed is usually pretty booked up. But the hot subjects are math and science, and special ed and of course - ESL. Perhaps you can do these or get certified to?

Old 07-18-2007, 11:30 AM

1,155 posts, read 1,843,579 times