Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-26-2012, 07:09 PM

1,935 posts, read 4,774,843 times

Advertisements

As a private music teacher myself, I felt compelled to ask other private music teachers how they handle what I have determined are common issues that plague people in our profession.

I've taught music for almost 10 years, figuring by now that I've done well in excess of 20,000 music lessons. I have taught people from ages 2 through 80, people with special needs and people with many times the talent that I ever had, people of all types. I have often been called an excellent music teacher, and I can count on one hand the number of families who have cut their professional relationships with me over disagreements with my teaching style (not one of which gave me any indication ahead of time that there were issues).

I am a professional-caliber performance musician on multiple instruments and I can teach everything in the rock band. My recitals have consisted of solo performers, duets, trios, all the way up to full rock bands staffed entirely by students (save for me on bass because that is somehow a very unpopular instrument). Let's face it. As a music teacher, I am very good at what I do. I'm excellent with kids and adults, I miss nothing, and I have a lot of patience for my students.