Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-20-2013, 01:49 AM

273 posts, read 1,063,091 times

Advertisements

i made these while i was a college student. i would hang them on my wall in my bedroom to remind me how to study and stay ahead of myself. now, i hang these tips on my wall in the classroom. about 1% of my students use it, and even then to a modest degree. these are tips to help guide a student become a successful learner. it's a rough blueprint to at the least get someone started. the goal is to find the handful of learning tools/options that fit your personality/situation the best and proceed with following thorough. not everyone will use all of these ideas but they exist and can be called upon when needed.

Flash cards with description or drawing; not only definition or process

Glossary

Lecture (notes, learn from hearing, record information on device, draw what instructor is mentioning, write down what you did not understand as it was said and consult later)

Professor interaction before and after class

Professor appointment

Collect at least 3-5 email addresses and phone numbers from your peers in each course and continue to consult daily with your classmates on the latest lecture/concepts AND offer to assist in explaining a concept/idea to your peers. When you teach, it helps entrench the idea in your mind. And when your peers reciprocate, you also learn. It’s a win-win for all parties.

Student study groups

YouTube clips including TeacherTube

Lecture notes

Individual/self talk-back and explain