Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2014, 06:41 AM

24 posts, read 47,958 times

Advertisements

I'm not a proponent of charter schools, but I just saw a post on tumblr about Urban Prep Academies, two high schools located in the southside of Chicago. Its student bodies are comprised entirely of young black men, and every year the schools have a 100 percent graduation rate and all of their students are accepted to 4-year colleges/universities. I absolutely do not agree with public money going into private hands, but clearly there is something about the model of Urban Prep (and others) that is working. What do you think it is? (or do you think the success of these schools is overhyped and/or being misconstrued? if so, how/why?)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-17-2014, 06:51 AM

86,052 posts, read 84,481,831 times
Same is going on in NYC.

Success Academy in Harlem (NYC)
They boast an 85% pass rate for NYS Math tests.

Why ? Because they are not mandated to keep all students. They can expel.
They can operate like private schools and only keep those students that actually want to learn.

IMHO the public school system needs permanent alternative education for those students that are disrupting the learning of all the others. And I don't mean the occasional troublemaker. There are students with chronic problems that need alternative K-12 education.

Old 04-17-2014, 08:28 AM

20,126 posts, read 16,159,824 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdhearted View Post