Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-18-2019, 09:12 PM

3 posts, read 1,153 times

Advertisements

Hello! I really want to use more communicative activities inside the classroom but there are almost 50 students inside the classroom and they love to talk also they do not behave very well. what can I do in order to make them talk and still be able to control the class. ( I am studying English pedagogy by the way and this is my last year)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-18-2019, 09:20 PM

4,388 posts, read 4,248,959 times
Have you thought about dividing the class into 8 groups and having them prepare and present together? I found that most of the students were excited about working with each other and motivated to earn a good grade. Are your students motivated to earn grades? Are the parents supportive regarding conduct issues?

Old 05-18-2019, 09:33 PM

I am scared to make them work in team because my mentor teacher is too teacher centered and will criticize me if I do that. I do believe that if I make them work cooperatively in order to earn good grades they will do it but thats the problems I am scared of the actions that my mentor teacher can do! and finally I do not believe parents are interesting at all about what their kids do

Old 05-19-2019, 05:49 PM
HN3

16 posts, read 8,988 times
That is a VERY big class for one teacher.

Could you give us some more details such as:

-grade level
-subject; is it English?