Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-25-2019, 07:38 PM

3,532 posts, read 6,424,262 times

Advertisements

I am a 4th grade teacher in my 27th year of teaching. Over the years, I typically have had about 4-6 students who have been chronic behavior problems. In my California school district, I have 34 students enrolled my classroom.

Some years I get a bad mix of students who are more talkative or challenging, and veteran teachers know that classes like those come in waves. But this year, I have noticed a big change. I have 17 students (50% of my class) who are out right needy, challenging, and flat out disrespectful. I have 3 students who are emotionally disturbed and when they become angry won't come into the classroom after recess breaks. Most of my day, I am putting out fires, and I literally can't teach when students get too unruly and just won't pay attention.

At first I was thinking that maybe I received the majority of challenging students. But after talking to my grade level team, they are telling me how unmanageable their classrooms are this school year as well.
Quick reply to this message

Old 09-26-2019, 04:22 PM

4,383 posts, read 4,235,798 times