Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-20-2021, 12:41 PM

1,051 posts, read 1,065,198 times

Advertisements

Here's a question for experienced teachers:

What are your most effective classroom management strategies? I'm a new HS teacher and definitely need some pointers.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-24-2021, 08:17 AM

4,381 posts, read 4,231,250 times
Congratulations and good luck!

If you have never read Harry Wong's The First Days of School, I highly recommend it. Another great resource is Louann Johnson's Teaching Outside the Box.

Best advice from Day 1 is Own your classroom. The first thing that I always did was make a set of index cards numbered with the row and seat, ordered from the back of the room to the front. The first students to the class would sit at the back, with the front seats reserved for the stragglers who intended to get the seats in the back. The rule was "new students sit at the front." Once the entire class had appeared, I would move each row's students to the front until another new student enrolled, when everyone in that row would move back. It's a subtle way of assuming control over the room. Then be sure to cover the entire room during your instruction. Proximity to the students is one way to encourage student engagement.

Be sure to let us know how things are going!

Old 07-24-2021, 09:44 AM

50,766 posts, read 24,261,465 times