Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-23-2023, 07:04 AM

78 posts, read 77,210 times

Advertisements

I have two questions for the teachers on this forum. What is teaching like nowadays and how do you know if changing careers to teaching is right for you?

A little background, I have a job currently (basically I am a project manager/office drone). I hate it. It's soul draining. But it was always good money and decent benefits. I worked for the money and benefits, not the love of the job. Now my workplace is under some stress and I can foresee it closing up in an year or two.

I am looking for a new job in my 50s and am willing to take a pay cut if it means a fulfilling job I enjoy. I will be honest, the idea of being an office drone somewhere else fills me with dread. I did substitute school teaching 20 years ago, when I was between jobs, and I loved it. I loved the kids, the other teachers, being in the classroom, etc. I had fun. It's one of the few jobs I actually thought was fun. I never pursued it though because taking a sabbatical from working to get certified was a bit daunting and was not something I could every afford to do.

As if by providence, a Facebook ad for the local school district popped up on a friend's page and she told me about the opening of 15 positions at the local school district. The ad basically says, "don't worry if you aren't certified, if you have a bachelor's degree, we will help you get there!"