Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-14-2009, 05:07 PM

25 posts, read 63,731 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent graduate and need to figure out if I should try my luck at a few job fairs and attempt to relocate. First thing's first...I have no debt, I'm 23, single, and could use a change of scenery. I live about 60 miles south of Pittsburgh in what's literally a dieing part of the country with nothing but modern day ghost towns and farm land. But with that in mind, as many know, PA is a union state and has a great education system...nearly impossible to get into, but it's a nice career if you can do so due to tenure and high wages later on around the 10+ year mark.

My problem is this: I have a principal at a very small school that I student taught/sub at who really likes me and wants me to interview for an opening, he basically wants to do all that he can to see me get the job...only problem is that nobody knows when this particular teacher is going to retire, basically sometime within the next 3 years though.

So what should I do? Do I trust in what I've been told and sit around subbing for another possible 3 years, hoping to get this job while placing my life on hold, or should I go ahead as planned and look into relocation and attend the several job fairs that I had picked out?

It's basically down to the following:

1. Relocate to the south/southwest/west coast
PROS:
-Be in a part of the world that I like.
-Have a better climate.
-Better starting salaries.