Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Tucson
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-24-2012, 12:30 PM

2 posts, read 4,577 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I'm an international student moving to tucson in January 2013, I definitely want an apartment. Which areas do you recommend and which areas would you not recommend? I preferably want something close to the university, but more importantly I want a SAFE AREA.

How is public transportion, if for example I had an apartment in the Catalania foothills would it be easy to commute to the university or is a car necessary? I do not want to live in a sketchy area.

I would also appreciate any advice anyone has to give on moving to tucson.

Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-24-2012, 01:26 PM

444 posts, read 1,352,948 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0007 View Post
if for example I had an apartment in the Catalania foothills would it be easy to commute to the university or is a car necessary?
Car is definitely necessary and that's a terrible area to live if you go to school at UA. UA has limited and very expensive parking options, so it's really best to not have to rely on a car. There is a commuter bus that runs from UA to the suburbs (including Catalina Foothills), but it's for working commuters, so it comes in at around 8am and leaves at around 5pm. Not ideal for most student schedules. Even then, you would need a car to get basic services like groceries.