Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Vancouver area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-15-2023, 05:35 PM

4 posts, read 4,228 times

Advertisements

I was referred to this forum from another as a good source of local ideas. I’m considering moving from Portland to Vancouver. Reasons are increased crime / homelessness combined with the ever growing tax burden. The tipping point making me more seriously consider moving is that Portland recently announced plans to build a city sanctioned homeless camp 5 blocks from our house.

I’m a physician (hospitalist) and my employer has positions in Washington (I’ve already picked up some shifts at the Longview hospital for extra money and could pick up more). I currently pay ~$25k in Oregon income tax so could eliminate some/all of that tax by shifting to my residence and some work to Washington.

Our kids like their current school in SE Portland (they are in 4th and 6th grade) so we’d keep them in it through 8th grade before switching. It's a private school so no problems with staying at the school. Their current school is a few minutes from I-205 so we’d be looking at neighborhoods with easy access to 205. Some of the families live in Vancouver and drive to the school already so it isn't an undoable drive.

Specific questions: