Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-19-2021, 08:11 PM

6 posts, read 14,343 times

Advertisements

Hi all,
Does anyone know the answer to the following as far as taxes and laws. I am a NH resident and bought a new car sales tax free recently in NH. Just bought a house in VT, waiting for closing date. If I move there within 60 days of car purchase, and I attempt to register car in VT will they try to make me pay sales tax since I bought car pretty recently?

Thanks for any replies.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-20-2021, 06:26 AM

20,097 posts, read 8,998,912 times
yes, you pay the tax where the car is registered not where it was bought.

Old 09-20-2021, 06:09 PM

6 posts, read 14,343 times
Hi Skeddy and thanks for replying,
I do not mean car registration taxes and fees. I mean the car purchase in New Hampshire just a few weeks before moving to new home in Vermont. I wonder if Vermont will try to collect SALES TAX on the purchase of the vehicle when I establish residency in Vermont, saying the car purchase was so recent to the move that I now owe Vermont sales tax of $2500.

Anyone have any idea how that works?

Old 09-20-2021, 06:19 PM

3,459 posts, read 10,263,765 times
All the info is on the DMV website https://dmv.vermont.gov/tax-title/vehicle-taxation
So yes, since NH does not have a sales tax, you will have to pay it when you register your car in VT.

Old 09-20-2021, 08:52 PM

1,708 posts, read 2,909,169 times