Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-23-2019, 11:14 AM

2 posts, read 6,070 times

Advertisements

I am a single teacher in Florida sick of the weather and looking to relocate. I want to move somewhere that I can enjoy more of outdoor life such as hiking, camping, etc.
As a teacher here in Florida having the summer's off doesn't do me any good when it's too hot to do anything before dark.
Years ago I had fallen in love with and settled on the idea of moving to Fredericksburg, VA I loved the history and the relative nearness to DC, a city that I love. But since then I have decided that I want a more rural life with a lot less traffic. I still love Fredericksburg but I would like to buy a small house with at least an acre of land and have a garden and animals.

For the past two years, I have concentrated my search towards the Western part of the state. I drove through a cute little town called Wytheville and loved it but then doing research heard bad things about it.
So I have been concentrating on other cities along the 81 corridor. I love the look of Staunton but I hear it's growing more and more crowded. I want to get away from that. I have been doing a lot of work and research, I have my Virginia teaching license. I also know the pay scales of teachers in Virginia so I need to teach in a city to make more money.
But I want ideas and thoughts from people who know the places.