Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-12-2017, 10:39 AM

1,640 posts, read 796,117 times

Advertisements

Hi ya'll,

I have a few questions for you. I'm curious what people have in mind when engaged in career development. Do you follow the money/opportunity where you are or do you have a specific goal in mind and focus on that? I had one area in mind when I graduated college and have ended up somewhere else. It's the same industry, but different concentration. I don't know if I should actively try to change my trajectory towards my initial goal, develop where i am, or focus entirely on earning more money. What I'm doing is pretty interesting work, the job (career even) is pretty stable, and money is ok. So, I worry about the devil you know/don't know business. I don't want to screw up a good thing. I'm no spring chicken (mid-40s) and have responsibilities (2 young children, mortgage, etc) so I cannot take crazy risks.

Then there is retirement age career decisions. I have no plans on retiring early. I'd like to work in some capacity as long as possible. There is ageism to consider as well. Fortunately, I didn't graduate college until the mid-2000s, so people just assume i am younger than I am (probably think I just look old for what they expect), but there will come a time when I have to contend with it. There are very few old timers at my company. Typically people are pushed out in their 60s as far as I can tell, which is ridiculous, but it is what it is.