Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-06-2024, 09:39 AM

2 posts, read 1,196 times

Advertisements

I am an accountant looking for another opportunity. I went on an interview through a recruiter for a Staff Accountant position at a medium sized company. The interview seemed to go well and they want me back for a second interview. There is something that the accounting manager who interviewed me said that gave me pause though. I asked why the position was open, and he said, "The last person in this position was here about 4 months and I let him go. He did good work, but there were some other issues." I said, "He didn't fit in personality wise?" He said, "No. He was a nice guy. The issue was it just didn't seem like we could keep him busy. I would see him in the break room away from his desk a lot. I think he was bored with the job." This threw up a red flag. It would have been one thing if he said, "He didn't know what he was doing," or, "He had a lousy personality and caused conflicts with co workers." But he even said, "He did good work and was a nice guy." We all know that in this job market, it is hard to find good workers. If there is an employee who does good work and has a good personality but doesn't seem to have enough work to keep him busy, what would most managers do? They would give him more work. The other thought that went through my mind was, "Is this guy a micromanager? Does he monitor his employees all day long?" Do you think this should be a red flag about this manager?