Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Ann Arbor
 [Register]
Ann Arbor Washtenaw County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-16-2021, 03:07 PM

15 posts, read 13,248 times

Advertisements

Hi

I am a graduate of U Mich - Ann Arbor. We are now New Jersey residents for many years and my kid will be finishing high school in a few years. If he decides to go to U Mich, is he subject to out-of-state tuition? Since I am an alumnus and my parents are still in Ann Arbor, would there be any way to have my kid as in-state?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-16-2021, 04:07 PM

4,516 posts, read 5,090,184 times
If your son wants to go to U-M at state rates, I believe he would have to relocate to your parent's home and finish HS there, at least for 1 year to establish residency. Your alumni status is irrelevant unless your son was seeking a U-M legacy scholarship that converts out-of-state students to in-state for tuition rates purposes. I know these scholarships exist.

Old 02-10-2021, 07:20 AM

724 posts, read 402,958 times
No. Alum status has nothing to do with in-state tuition. Also Universities make it harder to claim in-state tuition with every passing year because it is a cash cow for the university/state. They double the amount of income they receive.