Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-24-2015, 01:10 PM

10 posts, read 10,930 times

Advertisements

Hello, I am relocating to the Boston area starting Sept. 1st. I've never lived in Boston but I've heard finding housing, especially around that time of the year, is difficult.
I'm currently living on the other side of the country and I've never done an apartment search before so this whole process is a bit nerve wracking. I have a few questions to start but I appreciate any tips and tricks that could be offered, since I probably won't get a chance to actually fly out there and view any properties.

A few quick things about me:
A. I'm looking for a 1 bedroom ideally, but could also do a studio. I don't want roommates
B. Budget is $1500 - $1800, though I'd love to spend something closer to $1500. And if I could spend less than $1500 even better
C. I'll be working in Cambridge so ideally something nearby (Cambridge, Somerville, Allston, etc) but I will commute if necessary (by public transport). I'm not buying/bringing a car either, so something accessible to things like grocery shops is also important

Now the questions:
1. When should I start looking for a place and sign a lease? A friend who currently lives in Somerville told me she signed a lease mid-April for a Sept. 1st apartment

2. What are the best websites to find apartments in the area?

3. Would you recommend hiring a realtor and if so do you recommend any agencies/people?