Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel > Camping and RVing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 08:03 PM

460 posts, read 3,548,148 times

Advertisements

Was wondering what one of those smaller sized pop-up campers that can be towed by a small car (hopefully)) would cost USED and in general how are they? I'm a complete newb to any type of camping but have developed a love of the outdoors since traveling the country 5 yrs ago and was making plans to buy a tent but started thinking about these smal pop-ups as perhaps a nice cheap alternative to sleeping on the ground. What can anyone tell me about them and how are they for someone on a budget like me, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-02-2009, 09:29 PM

4,282 posts, read 15,752,372 times
By a pop-up I assume you mean a tent trailer.

Tent trailers have come a long way in the last 30 years. They used to consist of strictly a canvas enclosure on a small chassis, but now come with options like sink, fridge, stove, etc. Of course, prices now range fairly high for a new unit with all the bells and whistles.

Tent trailers can be a good entry-level choice for a couple or small family. It gets you off the ground for sleeping and gives the family a more substantial indoor shelter in inclement weather. Any tent trailer made after the dinosaur era offers a hard top which is usually raised through a simple winch system. With a little practice, the entire unit can be set up by one person in less than 30 minutes.