Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Chattanooga
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 04:24 PM

18 posts, read 81,182 times

Advertisements

I am a graduate student doing some sociological research on the area and am interested in the following information:

Just curious what readers think is the most expensive or exclusive residential neighborhood in Chatt? The answer can refer to neighborhoods that think that they are exclusive and also ones that simply are expensive.

Additionally, what about country clubs/tennis clubs? High society in Chatt? Is there a certain thread in the city that perceives itself as the elite?

Your anonymous answers, discussion is appreciated.

Thank you.

Old 04-18-2009, 07:16 AM

340 posts, read 1,512,013 times
I think it depends on what you define as Chattanooga. Lookout Mountain probably has the most 'old money' while Signal Mountain is more nouveau riche. For in-town residential exclusivity you would probably need to investigate the Riverview area on the North Shore.

Club-wise, the Lookout Mountain Golf and Country Club is fairly exclusive, as defined by cost of admission. Home - Lookout Mountain Fairyland Club (http://www.fairylandclub.org/fw/main/Home-1.html - broken link) In town, there is a little-known club called the Walden Club (http://www.waldenclub.org/id151.html), which is a business / social club and bills itself as elite. You might also check out http://www.chattanoogagcc.org/Club/S.../Home/home.asp