Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Hobbies and Recreation > Cycling
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 08:41 AM

1,181 posts, read 3,808,583 times

Advertisements

I started riding my bike again about 4 weeks ago, and am now doing at least 1 hour to 1 and 1/2 5 times a week. Is bike riding a good cardio workout? The thing is I get bored easily, and that's the one exercise I really enjoy that I could do every day. Any suggestions for the other 2 days? I've been walking, but I thought I could maybe do some weights - just not sure how to go about it. I have some 1, 5, and 10 lb free weights. Ideas?
I'm trying to lose weight (like to lose 30 pounds) and basically become healthier. I reduced my calories to 1500 a day goal - have lost 5 pounds so far.
Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-06-2008, 08:58 AM

3,434 posts, read 9,746,970 times
You could use the weights to do a full body workout on say Tuesday and Thursday, might suggest getting a exercise ball as well. For me what I would do is weights three times a week say MWF and stil continue to ride.
How To Get a Full-Body Workout With Dumbells and a Swiss Ball | eHow.com

Old 05-06-2008, 09:02 AM

1,240 posts, read 3,971,119 times
1500 calories/day is far too few even for a cut. You may benefit from reorganizing the foods you eat, how you eat them, and join a gym. Your weights are fine for a real beginner but you will outgrow them in about... oh... a month and they will become next to useless.