Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Dayton
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-13-2019, 01:58 PM

159 posts, read 124,985 times

Advertisements

Hi Im a older student from Southern California , I kind of want different experience . I thought I would check out the possibly of attending Dayton. Is the music department legitimate? What is Dayton like? I like the idea of four seasons and I have family from the Midwest mainly Illinois and some from Ohio. I have never been to Dayton however, I have checked out some stuff on the internet about Dayton that it has a historic arts district called Oregon which seems kind of cool and I heard that West Dayton is a neighborhood to avoid.Any advice?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2019, 03:27 PM

7,077 posts, read 8,936,385 times
I live in the Dayton area and am up there a lot, UD is a really good school probably the best in SW Ohio but it is a private school and very expensive, more known for their law program.

Dayton is a fairly nice place to live for the money, some parts better than others, The Oregon District is something of an entertainment district more than an arts district. Unfortunately there was a mass shooting there but that was an isolated incident, I have been there hundreds of times over the decades and never had a problem.

West Dayton is the worst area but not dangerous during the daylight hours and most of the violent crime takes place there but I have seen worse in other cities so it’s all relative.