Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-18-2006, 03:56 AM

23 posts, read 49,670 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone,
My wife and myself are both nurses in Manchester, UK and are looking to move to the US, in particular New England - we were firlstly looking at Vermont but from what people have told us cost of living is a little on the high side although it is a beuatiful place. we have been recommended to look at MA as there are some good hospitals. My background is medical emergencies and my wife is a Neonatal Nurse.
We have a 3yr old girl and another on the way so somewhere good to bring up the kids is essential. We were hoping for more of a rural setting hence firstly looking at Vt but we have now realised we may have to compromise!
Our max buget for a home would be approx $200,000.

Has anyone (maybe even a nurse) got any advice on where we may be best suited??
All advice is greatly appreciated!!
Matt!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-18-2006, 04:05 AM

100 posts, read 475,258 times
I would check out Worcester, MA there are many hospitals there and you can easily commute from the suburbs which will have your rural feel, especially the further west you go.

Old 08-18-2006, 08:37 AM

Thanks pondhopper!
A few people have suggested west MA, is it more rural that way on?
Where are there, examples of west MA towns for me to research??

Old 08-18-2006, 08:42 PM

1,005 posts, read 1,892,830 times
Default Recommendations...

Hey Matt -