Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-01-2009, 07:50 AM

2 posts, read 3,879 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm a freelance writer/journalist from the UK and will be coming to Philadelphia in July for a few months (initially). The thing is I have no clue where to stay and was wondering if anyone would be able to help.

I'm looking for an area that is good for writers, as I am coming to make contacts/network and push things forward with my writing career. So I would need a 'creative hot spot', arty would probably be okay, but if there are reputable publishers/publishing houses (big or small) away from the 'arty' areas, then I would rather be amongst the former. Also, I won't be driving, so will be using public transport. Other important factors are decent rent prices/people/food.

I have tried Craigslist for apartments, but will need to know what areas(s) to focus on.

Any help you can give will be appreciated.

Last edited by Miss R.; 04-01-2009 at 08:15 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-01-2009, 10:55 AM

8,982 posts, read 21,187,658 times
Welcome in advance to Philadelphia... and the US in general.

The area that would likely most appeal to you is our downtown core known as Center City. CC is comprised of many neighborhoods including those in the following list (which I conveniently borrowed from another recent thread):

Rittenhouse Square
Society Hill
Washington Square West
Old City
Fitler Square
Logan Square
Fairmount
(For your purposes, I'll add the following...)
Northern Liberties