Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-15-2021, 08:43 AM

5 posts, read 3,766 times

Advertisements

Hi all! I am a teacher and am struggling with my job. I love my job. My school is departmentalized, meaning i only teach Science and SS. And i love that. I love those subjects and think its great that we can focus on them more than most schools. I dont feel appreciated by my admin team, and am seriously considering leaving. Due to COVID this year, my classroom was taken to be used as a random room and i was made into a substitue. I would come to work ready to teach my students and then i would be told by admin that i needed to cover another class due to teacher being absent, and i would have to last minute cancel MY class to cover another teacher. This year has shown me that i have not been respected and i get pulled to do little things. I have been unable to teach my students fully or build a connection with them and many of them are suffering. Also, they wont allow my students to come back in person because we have "no room" because my classroom is used for testing and COVID testing. There is currently another school hiring that is self contained but a good school with a magnet program. Although i love teaching only science/ss, i am not happy at my current school. Im stuck between wanting to stay and wanting to apply at the other school
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-15-2021, 01:32 PM

9,114 posts, read 6,155,520 times