Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-28-2023, 12:15 PM

1,362 posts, read 4,319,131 times

Advertisements

Why are NJ republicans not nominating someone of the likes of Chris Christie or Glenn Youngkin (Virginia) or Michael Bloomberg or Christie Todd Whitman to STATE WIDE races? Moderate, inspiring, low baggage. Even the NYC mayor candidate (against Eric Adams) did not appear like a winning candidate!

What can be done?

I am fairly new to NJ. Just trying to learn more about state politics. Not trying to create trouble! And please don't move this thread to some other forum, it would be good to hear from people familiar with NJ.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-28-2023, 12:34 PM

88,612 posts, read 84,857,016 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by FromGA View Post
Why are NJ republicans not nominating someone of the likes of Chris Christie or Glenn Youngkin (Virginia) or Michael Bloomberg or Christie Todd Whitman to STATE WIDE races? Moderate, inspiring, low baggage. Even the NYC mayor candidate (against Eric Adams) did not appear like a winning candidate!

What can be done?

I am fairly new to NJ. Just trying to learn more about state politics. Not trying to create trouble! And please don't move this thread to some other forum, it would be good to hear from people familiar with NJ.
Christie Todd Whitman was already our governor, remember? She quit for the EPA job.