Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-13-2017, 07:37 PM

32 posts, read 61,284 times

Advertisements

Hi! I lived in Burlington for a while a few years back (after Cambridge MA), met someone in RI completing a medical residency, moved there to be with her, and together we are looking for places to move when she finishes. I vote to go back to Burlington, she's open to more places. I'm a teacher and off for the summer, so we decided to try living in the Research Triangle for August while she does a month away rotation. We're in Durham right now, but also checked out Raleigh and Chapel Hill. So far so good overall; I like it. Our family is in Mass and Maine, which is a factor for us apart from these things I'm asking about. There are many similarities but also many differences. I do understand the weather and cost of living advantages here in this part of NC, as well as the drive times to mountains and lakes/ocean/beaches, but am more curious about the culture, the political climate, the progressive (or regressive) nature, and overall "vibe" (sorry). Seems to be a big farm-to-table resurgence here, as well as microbrews, which is not unlike the Burlington area. The population is also larger here. I do notice the high density of Duke-affiliated intellectuals/professionals that seem to be 100% white, which makes it feel like Cambridge more than Burlington (not a lot of beards, flannel, or boots here-- out in Ashville, sure, but not here), but I also see the 50% non-white population data when you leave the di